About Me

Graduation in 1994
Graduation in 1994

Teaching Experience

I have been teaching since 1994 and have taught 11 – 16 year olds Science, Physics, Computing and Mathematics.  I have worked in three mainstream schools and three schools for children with additional needs.

During my career I have been the Head of Computing and Mathematics and been responsible for teacher training and mentoring working with Reading, Winchester and Greenwich Universities.  I have also served on a Senior Leadership Team.

Teaching Qualifications

Previous Work Experience

BSc (Ed) Hons – Exeter University

PGCert – Kingston University

Civil Service Clerical Officer Royal Mint

Royal Air Force Avionics Technician

Field Service Engineer
GPT Data Systems

RAF Service
RAF Service


Since qualifying as a teacher in 1994, I have provided Science and Mathematics tuition for 11 – 16 year olds with varying abilities and needs.

I have had a number of successful and varied occupations, punctuated by spells in college and university as outlined above.  I believe the skills I have gained and developed from my jobs, studies and extensive educational experience equip me to provide effective tutoring.

As a teacher and a tutor I know that the core to success is for tutees to have confidence and trust in themselves and the tutor.  Having taught in schools for children with a huge variety of skills, strengths and needs I have developed an approach to teaching that is straightforward and uncomplicated and at the same time challenging.  My aim is to cut away the extraneous detail and stick to the important and relevant information and processes involved in the subject.

During my time as a teacher I have found tutoring a satisfying and rewarding occupation so decided to set up as a private tutor.

I have also been employed by Surrey County Council Adult Education teaching adults basic mathematical and ICT lifeskills.


Transition from Teaching to Tutoring During Covid 19 – click logo for TTW blog contribution:


First Walk up Lochnagar
Hi. The day I moved to Scotland to teach maths
First View of Forth Bridge
Cycling holiday - Hadrian's Wall
Cycling holiday - Hadrian's Wall

After spending most summer breaks for the past few years in Scotland visiting the Edinburgh Fringe and enjoying walking and cycling holidays I decided to move permanently to Scotland in July 2019.

In my spare time I like to play tennis, walk and cycle.  I am a volunteer for the Cairngorms National Park Authority and member of the Upper Donside Bowling Club.  I have recently taken up golf and am a member of Tarland Golf Club.  I am also a qualified Archery GB Instructor.

In June 2021 I successfully completed the COSCA Counselling Skills Certificate course at Aberdeen University.  I am an SQA invigilator.

Video - first week
Dotty and Dandy
Sibling Love
Environmental Activists
Environmental Activists
Snooker Loopy